November 24, 2021

The 2021 George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award Committee of the Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) welcomes submissions of notable art books published in North America during 2021. This prestigious award is presented annually to publications demonstrating excellence in art publishing.

Established by ARLIS/NA in 1980, the award honors the memory of George Wittenborn (1905-1974), a premier New York art book dealer and publisher who was a strong supporter of ARLIS/NA in its formative years. Each year, eligible titles are evaluated for excellence in standards of content, documentation, layout, and format. From these titles, one exemplary publication will be chosen to receive the George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award.

Titles eligible for consideration include books, exhibition catalogues, and new periodical titles in any language, published in print or digital format in 2021 and originating from a North American publisher. Publications submitted by foreign publishers with North American offices must have been authored or edited in North America. Consult the Guidelines for specific criteria used for selection. (Guidelines available at:

Announcement of the awards will take place in April 2022 and winning publishers, editors, authors, printers, and designers will be personally notified. Award winning titles and individuals associated with them can expect to receive wide recognition in newspapers and journals of the library and publishing professions via press release announcements by ARLIS/NA. The awards will be presented in April of 2022 during the convocation of the ARLIS/NA annual conference in Chicago.

To be considered for the Wittenborn Award, publishers must submit a digital or physical copy to the committee for review. American publishers should one copy of each title for review to:

Gabrielle Webster
Attn: 2021 George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award
4 Lan Drive, Suite 310
Westford, MA 01886

Canadian publishers should send their copy to:

John Latour, Co-Chair
2021 George Wittenborn Memorial Book Award Committee
Concordia University LB 505-05, 1455 De Maisonneuve Blvd. W.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
H3G 1M8

Digital submissions may be submitted to the following email address:

**Please enclose a completed Entry Form for Submissions (available from the ARLIS/NA website in English, French and Spanish at: with your shipment.
The deadline for consideration is December 31, 2021 There is no limit to the number of submissions.
Please note: we are unable to return items submitted for review.

ARLIS/NA, founded in 1972, now has over 900 members in the U.S., Canada, Mexico and overseas. It is the only professional organization in North America devoted exclusively to the concerns of art information specialists.

We encourage you to share this announcement to other information professionals or groups who may not be part of ARLIS/NA, but who may be involved in art publishing.

For more information, please contact the 2021 Wittenborn Awards Committee at: