Recognition Award

Established in 2010, the UAAC-AAUC Recognition Award acknowledges members who have demonstrated their unselfish and devoted service to our association and their commitment to our profession’s ideals. These individuals have shown leadership and have made significant contributions to the organization. To honour the UAAC-AAUC conference’s 50th anniversary in 2017, the board decided that, henceforth, a lifetime membership in the association will accompany this award.

2023 UAAC-AAUC Recognition Award: Ersy Contogouris

Ersy is a scholar who works on the history of 18th- and 19th-century art, the history of caricature and graphic satire, and feminist and queer approaches in art history. Her long association with the UAAC began in 2012, when she took on the role of managing editor of the association’s journal RACAR, a position she held until 2017. Working closely with RACAR’s then editor-in-chief Annie Gérin and its editorial team, Ersy not only completed all the English and French copy-editing and managerial tasks required of the position with great composure and efficiency, but also helped bring the journal into the twenty-first century by seriously upgrading RACAR’s website and being closely involved in a new design for the journal. After stepping down as managing editor when she was hired as assistant professor of art history at the Université de Montréal, she then took on the role of French reviews editor at RACAR, which she held from 2018 to 2023. Ersy has also contributed her scholarship to RACAR. She co-edited the fall, 2019 issue with Mélanie Boucher: “Stay Still: Past, Present, and Practice of the Tableau Vivant.” She also published in the journal two peer-reviewed articles, a book review, and a dossier in a polemics section on the precarious working conditions of contract instructors in the fields of art and art history in Canadian universities.

Ersy is a regular contributor to UAAC conferences. Over the past decade, she has delivered five papers on topics as varied as 18th-century caricature and art publishing in Canada, and chaired six sessions (many double), including one for the Association of Historians of Eighteenth-Century Art and Architecture. She also importantly co-organized the 2019 UAAC conference held in Quebec City.

Between 2020 and 2023, Ersy served on the UAAC Board as the Quebec representative. During this time, she volunteered as a member of the UAAC search committee for a new administrator and the committee to select the 2021 UAAC Graduate Student Essay Award.

Given Ersy’s devotion to our association, it is clear why she is the recipient of this year’s UAAC recognition award. Over the years, we have worked with her at RACAR and on the UAAC board, and we have seen first-hand her devotion to the field, her collegiality, her scholarly acumen, and her witty sense of humour.

2023Ersy Contogouris
2022Joan Coutu
2021Anne Whitelaw
2020Martha Langford
2019Annie Gérin
2018Lynda Jessup and Sally Hickson
2017Lora Senechal Carney
2016Nicole Dubreuil
2015Joyce Zemans
2014David McTavish
2013Brian Foss
2012Barbara Winters
2011Mary and Alan Hughes
2010Catherine Harding and Allister Neher